From October 29, the much-loved Museo dell’Opera del Duomo will reopen its doors to the people of Florence, bringing with it over 750 pieces of inspiring work revealing 720 years of history.
The History of Museo dell’Opera del Duomo
The museum, known as the "Cathedral Workshop", was founded by the Republic of Florence in 1296 as a base to oversee the construction of the new cathedral and its almighty bell tower. After the cathedral was completed in 1426 (with the completion of Brunelleschi’s Dome), the role of the museum moved on to be one of conserving the monuments of the cathedral, including the Baptistery of San Giovanni.
In 1891 began to house the works of art from the Duomo and Baptistery that had gradually been removed through the course of the centuries.
In 2013 the Museum was closed to the public for renovation and expansion, although the Gates of Paradise and Michelangelo’s Pietà remained on view.